Beautiful Scars Milestone & NaNoWriMo

by dantewilde

My dearest friends,

Once again I begin by saying that it has been far too long. I hope you’re keeping well and enjoying life’s simple pleasures as much as its luxuries. These are, after all, the only things worth much concern. To paraphrase Oscar Wilde, work is the provision reserved for those who have nothing better to do with their time. If only we were all some of the greatest writers, then this, we could live by.

My Beautiful Scars milestone. It’s the first I’ve celebrated with you and from this point, it won’t be the last. I have finished the first revisions for the first four stories. Placing me half way through this project. I’m not sure how many times I’ll revise each piece, but I will update you when I have decided. As for the final four, my goal is to have the first revisions finished by the first of November. (Whether I’ll achieve this or not is yet to be seen, perhaps you’ll hold me to it?)

Which leads me to the some-what mysterious ‘NaNoWriMo’ (if you say it aloud it sounds a little like ‘nano rye mo’). If you’re unfamiliar with the abbreviation, this stands for National Novel Writing Month. The month in question is November and the rules are simple, write 50,000 words. In this time, I’m aiming to finish my first novel (Stitch). I’ve decided not to plan the novel, and to let the story find its own way. An extra 50,000 words on top of the existing 20,000 may not be enough to finish the story.  Unfortunately, I’ll only know this at the end of the month. I am however committed to writing 50,000 words in the thirty days.

On the first of November I’ll be doing a re-post of the first ‘teaser’ for Stitch. It was published here a few months back and can still be found in the archives.

 

This means I won’t be tending to the website as much as I would like for yet another month. I’ll continue to work on Beautiful Scars in the afternoons and will update you when I make noteworthy progress throughout the time. I’ve decided, as a motivator, to post my daily word count on my Twitter feed. It will be the most active form of social media for those thirty days. My twitter handle is @Dante_Wilde.

 

I’ll see you all on the other side,

 

Much love,

 

Dante x

 

